A Review: Trashy Movies

It’s no secret that an abundance of trashy movies exist in this world. Whatever characters they may feature, whatever the plot line may be, they focus on appealing to the emotions of the watcher. You get pulled in by the racy details even if, as a whole, the movie totally sucks. There’s a reason they’re called guilty pleasures; most people don’t rush to admit that they have a penchant for trashy movies, even if we all do at one point or another.

I haven’t had the chance to watch any movies for quite a while, but now that school is done for the summer I have a lot of free time in the evening. I decided to spend last night watching a movie, which I chose by going to the “Independent” movies category on Netflix. Apparently Netflix has a new system of displaying movies and the movie rating doesn’t show up on the initial page, so I blindly chose a movie called Adore. In hindsight, the title probably should’ve given me an indication of the kind of movie I was about to see.

The basic premise of the movie is this: Two women, who have been best friends for their entire lives, each have a son who is 18 and gorgeous. Can you see where this is heading? Each woman inevitably hooks up with her best friend’s son, casually discuss it with each other, see nothing wrong with it, and continue to do so in an absurdly open manner. Other drama happens, people get angry at each other, and then the movie ends inconclusively.

I can’t say that I enjoyed watching this movie – the entire time I was cringing or shouting at the stupidity of the characters. But for a reason that I don’t entirely understand, I finished watching it to the very end. I didn’t like any of the characters, so I wasn’t invested in the slightest, yet I felt the need to see how everything would turn out. Here lies the power of the trashy movie. It’s like a 100-minute long addiction, fueled not by excellent camerawork or outstanding plot but simply by the strange workings of human desire. The creators of trashy movies know that people like to take refuge in something that has nothing more than entertainment value. They capitalize upon this, filling the movie with just enough craziness to keep you watching.

Trashy movies have their place – they’re good after a breakup, as a way to relax after a long week of work, or even, on occasion, as a random movie night choice. I’ve had my fill for a while, but it’s good to know that the next time I need to drown myself in the ridiculous life of an unrealistic movie character, there will be a trashy movie out there that’s just right.

Rating: 6/10, best paired with snacks and ice cream

 

One thought on “A Review: Trashy Movies

Leave a Reply

